48 hours to go!!!

So i’m 2 days away from departure and i am finally ready, that is mentally ready, i haven’t even packed a sock yet, my bed is covered in clothes in piles of must take and would like to take, i am yet to see what will actually fit as i am not ready to face the reality that i can’t take everything. I did however manage to get an extra 10kgs for free from Korean Air which will help, if you don’t ask you don’t get and they generously put it up to 30kgs. I’m thinking that i won’t be able to fit in the 3 toiletrie bags i have, i bought so much from boots for every eventuality, they made a killing from me but i’m guessing that my body is going to react in some weird way at some point to things such as the altitude, the dropping temperatures and sand storms, not to mention the bizarre food im going to be putting inside. I am, as we speak lining my stomach with some bacteria tablets which will apparently kill-off anything i put in there, fingers crossed. I will also be trying Cesca’s technique of a swig of vodka before meals which also kills everything in it’s path.

So i am flying Saturday evening and arriving Sunday evening and i can’t even imagine what it will feel like to wake-up on Monday morning in Ulaanbaatar, to step outside and see Mongolia for the 1st time in day light. I am however excited now, i didn’t think i would ever get there, it all felt so daunting and far away and foreign but after 6months of preparation, research, training, speaking to volunteers and other random people who have visited there or who live there i feel i am ready to do it too.

Next post will be sent from Ulaanbaatar, wow it still doesn’t seem real or a real place just a word with alot of Aaas, but we will see quite literally, im lookinf forward to writing this blog and sharing all, well most of my experiences. See you all soon xx

About rdamm

I am about to embark upon a V.S.O. placement for one year in UB, Mongolia. I shall be working as a textile designer at Mongol Nekhmel, a textile company that produces cashmere, yak and camel hair clothing and homeware. I shall be sharing the skills i have gained in the last 10 years as a designer, creating connections and helping to open-up the products to the European and Japanese markets, therefore hopefully assisting to bring herding communities out of poverty. The views expressed in this blog are the author's own and do not necessarily reflect those of V.S.O. www.vso.org.uk www.vsointernational.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 48 hours to go!!!

  1. Angie says:

    I’m so excited for you love let me know what you need I’ll post stuff from the Uk for you!

  2. Sweet amiga, I am so happy for you and very very proud of you, beyond believe that you are so close to take off!! You will have an amazing time, every cell in my body tells me that! No freak outs just stay calm and breathing at all times and you will do fine 🙂 if not get a life jacket and jump ships, you know there is always that option too hihi.. love you mucho besitos, amor y luz

  3. Abigail Clarkson says:

    I am really excited for you – it is will the most amazing experience. The time will fly by…..great we can keep in touch via this site…good work…xxx Love you……please take care xx

  4. Diana Wood (Di) says:

    Well done…you’re on your way to whole new world…my very best wishes come with this and look forward to reading your blogs. Take care Di

  5. Sergio says:

    Congratulations!!!
    You made it!!!
    Hope you had a good trip and all my best for your experience in Mongolia!!
    Btw, let us know how does it look aaa……. on monday morning!!
    Besos from Georgetown, Guyana!
    Ser

Leave a Reply

